The Flag of the Philippines

The national flag of the Philippines is composed of 4 colors; red, blue, white and yellow. It has equal bands of blue and red, with a white equilateral triangle based at the hoist side.

In the center of the triangle is a yellow sun with 8 primary rays, each containing 3 individual rays and at each corner of the triangle is a 5-pointed yellow star.

The flag is displayed with the blue field on top, in times of peace and at times the red field on top in times of war.

The 2 fundamental colors of the Philippine flag are royal blue and scarlet red.

The meanings of the colors of the Philippine national flag are as follows:
The white triangle stands for equality and fraternity, the blue field for peace, trust and justice, and the red field for patriotism and valor.

The 8 primary rays of the sun represent the 8 provinces which declared themselves in state of war as soon as the first revolt was initiated. The 8 provinces are Manila, Cavite, Bulacan, Pampanga, Nueva Ecija, Bataan, Laguna and Batangas.
The 3 stars represent the 3 major geographical divisions: Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.

There are also a few flag protocols in the Philippines. The flag must be flown at half mast as a sign of mourning. Like a death of a president or a former president, historical figures and anyone that is recognized and declared by the Philippine government.

Leave a Reply