The Evolution of the Flag of the Philippines

The current national Philippine flag today is just a mere derivative flag from the Philippine flags that precedes it. Long before it was wave on General Emilio Aguinaldo’s balcony on 1898, its predecessors already made a mark to some Filipinos who love their countries.

The very first Flag of the Philippines that has been created is said to be the flag of Andres Bonifacio. It is the flag of their Secret Society named Katipunan, which has an acronym of three Ks or KKK. These three Ks stands for Kataas-taasang Kagalang-galang Katipunan ng mga Anak ng Bayan or in English word Highest and Most Honorable Society of the Sons of the Nation.

This very first Philippine flag is in full red color with the three Ks on white color on the center of the red flag. You can google the image of this flag to see for yourself what it looks like. This KKK flag was made by Andres Bonifacio’s wife Gregoria De Jesus and Benita Rodriguez.

This Flag of the Philippines have variations that is some put the three Ks in a horizontal position, some in triangular form and some one large K only.

Another distinct variation of this flag is the flag of General Mariano Llanera. His version is of black background with one K on the left side and a skull above a two cross bones on the right.

This first Philippine flag has gone many revisions, variations and versions until it reach the present day flag of the Philippines.

There are variations with the three Ks but with an image of a sun above them but with red as background; there is a version with a white triangle lying down horizontally on the left corner or an equilateral triangle and within this white triangle are the three Ks spread on the three corners of the triangle, while on its center is the image of a rising sun behind a mountain, this version was said to be created by General Pio del Pilar; some version of the Philippine flag is the one called the Sun of Liberty of the Naic Assembly whose only image on the red flag is the image of a sun with a face on it without the three Ks.

Another variation is the Magdalo flag. This flag has only an image of the sun on the center which one letter K at the center of the sun. The letter K here is written on the ancient Filipino alphabet.

However, on the Battle of Tirad Pass and Pasong Balite, General Gregorio Del Pilar introduce a new flag with a striking resemblance of a Cuban flag. But this flag of General Gregorio Del Pilar was not at all sensationalized by Filipinos because of it resemblance to a Cuban flag.

But on 1898, while on exile at Hong Kong, Emilio Aguinaldo made another banner flag. This time the flag have a freemasonry triangle symbol with three stars on the corners and a sun with a face or a mythical sun on the center, Which according to him, the eight rays of the sun represents the eight provinces that revolted against the Spanish ruling, namely Manila Philippines, Pampanga Philippines, Cavite Philippines, Bulacan Philippines, Nueva Ecija Philippines, Bataan Philippines, Laguna Philippines, and Batangas Philippines. While the three stars represents: Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao.

And this flag was wave at General Emilio Aguinaldo’s balcony, and also this flag of the Philippines was revised by former Philippine President Manuel L. Quezon by removing the face on the sun. Thus revised version has now become the current flag of the Philippines. It is now the accepted Philippine flag.

Leave a Reply